So I went to the store the other day and decided to buy some Chocolate Mousse Pocky, the Japanese wheat sticks dipped in chocolate. They have this delectable packaging which makes everything look so tasty and inviting. Now of course with my peanut and tree nut allergies, I read the label of almost everything before I buy it.
Here’s what the ingredients list read as:
INGREDIENTS: WHEAT, SUGAR, COCOA, PALM OIL, COCOA BUTTER, SHORTENING, WHOLE MILK POWDER, CREAM POWDER, COCOA POWDER, SWEETENED CONDENSED MILK, LACTOSE, SALT, NONFAT DRY MILK, BUTTER, FRESH CREAM, COFFEE POWDER, CHEESE POWDER, SOYA LECITHIN, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, BAKING SODA, TRISODIUM PHOSPHATE
ALLERGY INFORMATION: CONTAINS MILK, WHEAT, SOY BEAN, EGG AND PEANUTS.
Clearly there were no peanuts in the ingredients but the foreign manufacturing company labeled it as such. I bought the Pocky anyway and then spent about an hour debating whether or not I should eat one because I wasn’t sure if the product contained peanuts because of the goofy labeling. Well, in the end I decided to test it out and not too long later there were no more Pocky left.
So, I am very thankful for the 2006 FDA regulation which made disclosure of allergen information mandatory on consumer packaged goods but some things just get lost in translation… — Neelu